What moved in longevity science this week, what it changes for what you take, move, eat and measure, and what is being sold far ahead of its evidence. Global signal, India lens.
This week in 30 seconds
| Yes | Products sold as cat's claw contained undeclared kratom alkaloids and tianeptine. If a cat's claw product is in your cupboard, stop taking it. How many products on sale are affected is unreported, so the label cannot tell you which bottles are clean. If you have been using one and feel unwell, tell your doctor exactly what you took.Take |
| Not yet | Regeneron says trevogrumab preserved muscle mass during GLP-1 weight loss, and nobody reported strength. Ask your doctor to track your strength and walking speed, not only the scale. No study tested whether training or protein changes what GLP-1 users lose, and trevogrumab remains an experimental asset with no strength or fracture result reported.Take |
| Not yet | A PhenoAge clock reading rose with tumour stage, and may be tracking cancer rather than aging. If you were about to pay for a biological age test, keep the money. With an active illness, the number may be reading the illness. None of this week's clocks were tested against a clinical outcome, and the tumour-stage result is one unreplicated preprint.Measure |
Changes what you do: 1 yes · 2 not yet · 0 no
What this issue rests on · 13 sources
| ON THE LADDER |
| Lab and animals · 1 |
| People, watched · 3 |
| People, tested on a stand-in · 1 |
| BESIDE IT |
| Measurement and methods · 2 |
| Reviews · 1 |
| Not a study · 5 |
◆◆◆◇◇ Every study sits on a five-step ladder, from lab to a person’s actual outcome. How to read it
Take Measurement
Does this change what you should do?
YesIf a cat's claw product is in your cupboard, stop taking it. How many products on sale are affected is unreported, so the label cannot tell you which bottles are clean. If you have been using one and feel unwell, tell your doctor exactly what you took.
| Who | Products marketed as the herbal supplement cat's claw (Uncaria tomentosa) |
|---|---|
| How many | Number of products tested not stated |
| How long | A single survey, no follow-up |
| Design | Cross-sectional analytical chemistry survey of marketed products: the tablets were tested, not people |
| Measured | What the tablets contained, not any effect in users, STAND-IN |
A supplement label is the only information most buyers have about what is in the bottle. Here it was wrong.
Chemists analysing products marketed as cat's claw found undeclared kratom alkaloids, including the opioid-active 7-hydroxymitragynine, and tianeptine. The work followed US reports of overdoses and deaths linked to mislabelled tablets. This is a chemical survey of products rather than a study in people, so no evidence stage is assignable. The analysis is a preprint and has not been peer reviewed.
Nobody counted how many users were exposed or what happened to them. The problem sits in the product category and its supply chain, not in one brand a single recall would fix. 1
HARMSReported. The analysis followed US overdose and death reports linked to mislabelled tablets, and one compound found, 7-hydroxymitragynine, acts on opioid receptors.
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISTesting that named which brands and batches were contaminated, and how common contamination is across products on sale.
1 medRxiv · cross-sectional analytical chemistry survey of marketed products
Take◆◆◆◆◇ People, tested on a stand-in
Does this change what you should do?
Not yetAsk your doctor to track your strength and walking speed, not only the scale. No study tested whether training or protein changes what GLP-1 users lose, and trevogrumab remains an experimental asset with no strength or fracture result reported.
| Who | Adults losing weight on a GLP-1 drug (Phase 2 COURAGE trial) |
|---|---|
| How many | Not disclosed in the announcement |
| How long | Not disclosed |
| Design | Company-reported Phase 2 topline, through press coverage, not peer-reviewed. Stage not assignable: no trial design or results have been published |
| Measured | Lean and muscle mass, STAND-INSTAND-IN |
◆ Funding is not validationThe result comes from the party with a commercial stake in the drug, not from an independent analysis.
If you are losing weight on a GLP-1 drug, some of what you lose is muscle. What matters is whether an add-on keeps you climbing stairs and carrying shopping.
Regeneron says trevogrumab, an antibody aimed at the myostatin pathway, preserved lean and muscle mass during GLP-1 weight loss, without meaningfully increasing total weight loss. The announcement is the company's own and has not been peer-reviewed. No strength, function or fracture result is reported, and a review the same week adds synthesis rather than data.
India's food regulator issued a notice over lean-muscle-preservation claims on Celevida GLP+, a Dr Reddy's and Nestle Health Science product sold alongside GLP-1 therapy. A prescription-drug result does not license a supplement claim. In the US, BodySpec has opened an Oakland storefront selling 12-minute DEXA scans for under $60, which report lean mass, not strength. 2–5
HARMSNone reported. The company's announcement carries no adverse-event data, which is an absence of reporting rather than a safety record.
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISA trial showing people on the drug walked faster, carried more or broke fewer bones than those on a GLP-1 drug alone.
2 Phase 2 randomised, placebo-controlled trial (COURAGE), topline results reported via press release/news · 3 Aurum Revista Multidisciplinar · narrative review · 4 ET HealthWorld · Not a study · 5 Longevity.Technology · Not a study
Measure Measurement
Does this change what you should do?
Not yetIf you were about to pay for a biological age test, keep the money. With an active illness, the number may be reading the illness. None of this week's clocks were tested against a clinical outcome, and the tumour-stage result is one unreplicated preprint.
| Who | Patients undergoing primary tumour resection |
|---|---|
| How many | 3,067 |
| How long | Not stated |
| Design | Observational cohort, biomarker clock construct-validity analysis, People, watched: watched, not tested. A preprint, not yet peer reviewed. |
| Measured | PhenoAge acceleration against tumour stage, STAND-IN |
| 3,067patients undergoing tumour resection | 1,259people in the kidney-disease clock analysis |
◆ Biomarkers are not outcomesThe clock reading stands in for the rate of aging, and here it moved with tumour stage instead.
A biological age test promises to tell you how fast you are aging, which is why people pay for one. This week shows what such a number can quietly be measuring instead.
In 3,067 patients having a primary tumour removed, PhenoAge acceleration rose with tumour stage. The authors conclude it may track cancer burden rather than biological aging. These patients were observed during routine surgical care, not assigned to anything.
Two other papers this week used the same kind of clock in people already ill: one in diabetic kidney disease, the other in head and neck cancer. If the clock moves with disease, these studies may be counting the disease twice. 6–8
HARMSNot measured. None of these studies followed what patients did after being given a biological age number.
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISA trial that moved people's clock readings with treatment and then showed fewer deaths, fractures or hospital admissions.
6 observational cohort, biomarker clock construct-validity analysis · n = 3,067 · 7 Diabetes · observational cohort comparing 10 epigenetic clocks across two cohorts · n = 1,259 · 8 Epigenomes · retrospective observational cohort, pretreatment blood DNA methylation profiling · n = 100
What didn't move
Cold exposure. Cold extended lifespan in worms through a biopterin signal passed between tissues (Animals). No human exposure, dose or outcome was tested, and this one study reached us under three headlines. 9
Sun exposure. A reanalysis of existing human skin data argues non-burning sun may not measurably accelerate skin aging. Two parameters, no new data, nothing about skin cancer (People, watched). Nothing here supports changing sun-protection behaviour. 10
Longevity clinics. Large health systems are opening longevity programmes, and at the fourth Roundtable of Longevity Clinics the sector's own leaders argued for moving from luxury diagnostics to standardised care. A hospital logo on a longevity panel does not change what the panel predicts. 11,12
AYUSH patent filings. The Ministry of AYUSH reported 4,077 traditional-medicine patent applications filed between 2014 and 2026. Filing activity is not evidence of efficacy, safety, approval or a product on a shelf. 13
The thread this week
Three items turn on a cheap measurement standing in for the thing you actually want to know: lean mass for strength, a clock for aging, a label for what is in the bottle.
Most longevity news is early. These plain guides cover what is already proven, stage by stage, with Indian sources first.
Scientist working at the intersection of computation, biology and medicine. Longevity, Interpreted. exists to understand the evidence, not sell an intervention.
All issues · Subscribe · Health by age · suchee.org · LinkedIn · Scholar