What moved in longevity science this week, what it changes for what gets built, funded, approved and priced, and what is being sold far ahead of its evidence. Global signal, India lens.
This week in 30 seconds
| Not yet | Partial reprogramming reached first-in-human testing in three glaucoma patients. Funders get their first human signal; no clinician, regulator or buyer can act on three open-label patients. |
| Not yet | Scholar Rock refiled apitegromab in Europe and a GLP-1 add-on reported a trial in one week. Funders see the category move; prescribers get no falls, strength or function data to act on. |
| Not yet | Nonprofit hospital systems began selling longevity packages at $5,500 to $45,000 a year. Builders and investors in preventive testing gain an institutional channel; buyers get a priced panel with no outcome evidence. |
| Not yet | A skin-longevity category is forming on reviews and lab assays, with one real trial behind it. Builders get one real trial to point to; buyers get a category mostly selling on language borrowed from aging biology. |
Changes what gets built, funded, approved or priced: 0 yes · 4 not yet · 0 no
What this issue rests on · 29 sources
| ON THE LADDER |
| Lab and animals · 4 |
| People, watched · 1 |
| People, tested on a stand-in · 7 |
| BESIDE IT |
| Reviews · 2 |
| Not a study · 15 |
◆◆◆◇◇ Every study sits on a five-step ladder, from lab to a person’s actual outcome. How to read it
◆◆◆◆◇ People, tested on a stand-in
Does this change what gets built, funded, approved or priced?
Not yetFunders get their first human signal; no clinician, regulator or buyer can act on three open-label patients.
| Who | Life Biosciences |
|---|---|
| What | First-in-human dose-escalation trial of ER-100 |
| How much | 3 patients, one injection each |
| Evidence | People, no comparator: single-arm Phase I dose escalation, company-reported |
| Product, price | None announced |
| 3patients dosed | 2 of 3visual-field signal |
◆ Funding is not validationThe only account of this trial comes from the company that ran it.
Life Biosciences dosed three glaucoma patients with ER-100 in a first-in-human dose escalation, the first human data from a formal reprogramming trial. Earlier informal human use was never published. The company reported early visual-field improvement signals in two of the three patients. Two reports describe one trial, not two. In mice, a 16-day course of Yamanaka-factor induction reversed features of haematopoietic stem cell aging.
Three open-label patients with no serious adverse events so far do not establish tolerability, and the follow-up duration is unreported. A visual-field change in two people with no comparator is an observation, not an effect, and the company is the only source. 1–4
HARMSNo serious adverse events to date in three patients; three people cannot make a safety profile. A separate unpublished report describes AAV-delivered partial reprogramming given informally outside trial structures. (none reported)
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISA controlled trial with prespecified visual-field endpoints, or a dataset published outside the company's own release.
1 Longevity.Technology · Phase I, first-in-human, single-arm dose escalation · n = 3 · 2 STAT News · early-stage, single-arm, open-label trial; company-reported interim safety update · n = 3 · 3 Partial reprogramming (16-day Yamanaka factor induction) in young and old mice, with multi-omics profiling · 4 Fight Aging! · informal/unregulated human gene therapy administration (anecdotal, unpublished)
◆◆◆◆◇ People, tested on a stand-in
Does this change what gets built, funded, approved or priced?
Not yetFunders see the category move; prescribers get no falls, strength or function data to act on.
| Who | Scholar Rock, Atrogi |
|---|---|
| What | An EMA resubmission plus two company-reported readouts |
| How much | 13 subjects in the ATR-258 study; trevogrumab trial size not disclosed |
| Evidence | People, no comparator: an 8-week single-arm study for ATR-258, and a company-reported trevogrumab readout whose randomisation and design are undisclosed |
| Product, price | None announced |
| 13, open-label single-armATR-258 subjects | nonetrevogrumab design disclosed | indication not statedapitegromab resubmission |
◆ Biomarkers are not outcomesLean mass is standing in for the strength and function outcomes the sarcopenia worry is about.
Scholar Rock resubmitted its apitegromab marketing authorisation application to the European Medicines Agency. The indication covered by that resubmission is not stated in the available reporting. It cannot be read as a filing for muscle preservation during GLP-1 therapy.
A company-reported trial says trevogrumab reduced muscle loss in patients on a GLP-1 agonist and aided muscle regain after treatment stopped. The report discloses no randomisation and no design, so the claim cannot be graded. Atrogi's 8-week, open-label, single-arm study of oral ATR-258 in 13 overweight or obese subjects is company-reported and unpublished.
Every result here measures muscle mass, not strength or function. 5–8
HARMSNo adverse-event data accompanied the trevogrumab report. The ATR-258 study is company-reported and unpublished, so its safety data cannot be read.
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISA randomised trial in older patients reporting strength, falls or physical function.
5 clinical trial of trevogrumab added to GLP-1 therapy · 6 Not a study · 7 Longevity.Technology · open-label, single-arm, dose-escalation (3 doses), investigator-initiated · n = 13 · 8 Revista CPAQV - Centro de Pesquisas Avançadas em Qualidade de Vida · narrative review of incretin-based obesity pharmacotherapy and body-composition/muscle outcomes
Not a study
Does this change what gets built, funded, approved or priced?
Not yetBuilders and investors in preventive testing gain an institutional channel; buyers get a priced panel with no outcome evidence.
| Who | Nonprofit hospital systems, Mito, Longevitix |
|---|---|
| What | Clinic launches and a direct-to-consumer scan |
| How much | $5,500 to $45,000 a year; $249 per scan |
| Evidence | Not a study: a clinic launch and a price carry no design |
| Product, price | Packages at $5,500 to $45,000 a year; $249 calcium scan |
| $5,500 to $45,000annual packages | $249calcium scan | noneoutcome data on buyers |
Nonprofit hospital systems are opening longevity clinics selling personalised assessments and advanced testing at $5,500 to $45,000 a year. The operator Mito sells a direct-to-consumer coronary artery calcium scan at $249 with no physician referral. Longevitix is building an AI layer meant to turn preventive-health data into continuous care.
The channel is what changed. Selling these packages inside nonprofit systems puts cash-pay testing in institutions that carry charity-care obligations. Neither the hospital clinics, nor Mito, nor Longevitix reports outcome data on buyers. 9–11
HARMSBroad testing in people without indications produces incidental findings, and findings produce procedures. Neither the hospital clinics nor Mito reports what happened to buyers.
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISFollow-up on a cohort of package buyers: downstream procedures, findings acted on, outcomes.
9 STAT News · Not a study · 10–11 Longevity.Technology · Not a study
◆◆◆◆◇ People, tested on a stand-in
Does this change what gets built, funded, approved or priced?
Not yetBuilders get one real trial to point to; buyers get a category mostly selling on language borrowed from aging biology.
| Who | A skin-care trial sponsor, plus seven review and lab-assay publishers |
|---|---|
| What | A randomised, vehicle-controlled facial-photoaging trial, surrounded by reviews, an in vitro assay and opinion pieces, all using 'hallmarks of aging' language |
| How much | 1 controlled trial, sample size not disclosed; 7 non-trial publications in the same window |
| Evidence | People, tested on a stand-in: one randomised vehicle-controlled trial on skin biomechanics; the rest are reviews, a lab assay, or not a study at all |
| Product, price | None announced |
| 1 of 8real trials this week | 12 weekstrial length |
◆ Biomarkers are not outcomesSkin biomechanics and extracellular-matrix markers stand in for any health outcome; a cosmetic result is not a longevity result.
A 12-week randomised, double-blind, vehicle-controlled trial tested a topical TORC1 inhibitor against facial photoaging, measuring skin biomechanics and structural protein markers. It is a real controlled design, run against a placebo cream rather than nothing. Seven other pieces published the same week sell the same 'aging hallmark' language. They include reviews of marine collagen peptides, the skin microbiome, and skin-aging cell stress; an in vitro extract screen; a clinical framework proposal; and an opinion piece on lab-grown collagen.
None of the seven is a study of a person. The category is building commercial and scientific-sounding language around aging biology faster than it is building trial evidence for it, and the one real trial measured a cosmetic surrogate, not a health outcome. 12–19
HARMSNo adverse-event data is reported for the trial, and the review and assay pieces carry no human safety data at all.
WHAT WOULD MOVE THISA trial that ties a skin-aging marker to a result a buyer would actually notice, or to a claim a regulator would recognise.
12 Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology · randomized, double-blind, vehicle-controlled trial, 12 weeks · 13 BioFactors · narrative review · 14 Microbiome Research Reports · narrative review · 15 Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dermatology · conceptual review · 16 Longevity.Technology · Not a study · 17 Association for International Tea Culture · in vitro anti-aging assay study · 18 Skin Pharmacology and Physiology · Not a study · 19 Journal of Dermatology for Physician Assistants · narrative review
Business signals
Regulation
Money
Pipeline
India Watch
Watching
| Trend | Activity / evidence | Where it stands |
|---|---|---|
| GLP-1 muscle-preservation combinations | ↑ rising◆◆◆◆◇ People, tested on a stand-in | EMA refiling with indication unstated; two company-reported readouts on muscle mass, no function endpoint. |
| Partial epigenetic reprogramming toward the clinic | ↑ rising◆◆◆◆◇ People, tested on a stand-in | One open-label trial, three patients, company-reported; mouse work supplies the mechanism. |
| India nutraceutical marketing versus the evidence gap | ↑ rising Not a study | Enforcement now names a branded product from large companies, not only category rules. |
| Longevity clinics globalising | ↑ rising Not a study | Cash-pay packages now sold through nonprofit hospital systems, no outcome data on buyers. |
| VO2max and cardiorespiratory fitness as a vital sign | ↑ rising◆◆◆◇◇ People, watched | A 562,234-adult registry adds peak METs to mortality prediction; UK Biobank links pre-diagnostic fitness to survival. Both observational. |
| Aging biomarker standardisation | ↑ rising Measurement | False-positive criteria for clock readouts are published, and DE-SWAN's sensitivity to sample age distribution is documented. |
| Senolytics clinical translation | → flat Review | A PRISMA review finds human trials still report surrogate and biomarker endpoints rather than clinical outcomes. No senolytic has been shown to improve a clinical outcome in people. |
| GLP-1 expansion into healthspan medicine | → flat◆◆◆◇◇ People, watched | WHO put counselling ahead of these drugs in younger children; the Alzheimer's question rests on genetic instruments, not trials. |
| Dog longevity as a regulatory wedge | ↑ rising◆◆◇◇◇ Animals | An epigenetic clock across 894 dogs predicts mortality; Genflow's beagle interim is company-reported. |
Most longevity news is early. These plain guides cover what is already proven, stage by stage, with Indian sources first.
Scientist working at the intersection of computation, biology and medicine. Longevity, Interpreted. exists to understand the evidence, not sell an intervention.
All issues · Subscribe · Health by age · suchee.org · LinkedIn · Scholar