What moved in longevity science this week, what it changes for what you take, move, eat and measure, and what is being sold far ahead of its evidence. Global signal, India lens.
Nothing this week changes what you should buy or take. Two items are worth a question to a clinician. The AI-designed drug that made blood look "biologically younger" is a company re-analysing its own markers, and the lifespan headline was about mice. Hold off buying a biological-age test: no clock in the record has been validated against a clinical outcome as an endpoint. An independent pooling of 51 studies also found about half the anti-ageing products tested moved no clock at all. If you or a parent has non-urgent surgery coming, ask the surgical team whether they run a prehabilitation programme. Which exercise type and dose ranked best for bone is in the paper, not in the available reporting. Any of this would mean more if someone showed that moving the number moves how long or how well people live.
A multicentre randomised trial tested three weeks of individualised prehabilitation before elective surgery (People, tested on what matters)1. Patients were frail or pre-frail and aged 70 and over, with standard care as the comparator.
The endpoint is maintained independence and avoided long-term care dependency, not a biomarker (People, tested on what matters)1.
Effect size: in the paper, not in the available summary. It has to be read before anyone changes a pre-surgical pathway.
Exercise in frail patients carries fall and cardiac risk, and the adverse-event profile is not reported (People, tested on what matters)1.
DOES THIS CHANGE WHAT I SHOULD DO?
Maybe. Asking whether a surgical unit offers prehabilitation costs nothing, and the trial aims at independence rather than a surrogate. Until the effect size is read, that is a question to raise, not a service to buy privately.
A Bayesian network meta-analysis of randomised trials ranked exercise types and doses against bone mineral density and fracture risk in adults over 40 (People, tested on a stand-in)2.
DOES THIS CHANGE WHAT I SHOULD DO?
Maybe. Which modality and dose ranked highest is not stated in the available reporting, so this is a reason to read the paper, not to change protocol. If you have diagnosed osteoporosis, have the loading prescribed rather than self-selected.
A Yale-led reanalysis pooled 51 studies of anti-ageing interventions through one harmonised pipeline (People, tested on a stand-in)3.
About half the tested products moved no epigenetic clock (People, tested on a stand-in)3. A Nature analysis separately ranked clocks by responsiveness to human interventions (People, tested on a stand-in)4.
Supply grew anyway: sex-specific multi-organ clocks (People, watched)5,6, a retinal age gap with 2.66-year mean absolute error (People, watched)7, a brain-age product called Brain Years (Not a study)8.
INDIA. Clinic formats scaled this week. A physician-led longevity centre is opening in Whitefield, Bengaluru (Not a study)10, an operator has rebranded as The Longevity Centre with a celebrity ambassador (Not a study)11, and Temple has acquired the UK clinic Longevous (Not a study)12. None of these items reports clinical outcome data, and none states a price. Harms are the standard ones for unindicated testing: incidental findings and the investigations they trigger. No harms data exist for these specific services.
DOES THIS CHANGE WHAT I SHOULD DO?
No. A clock reading changes no management decision, and this week made the case against paying for one stronger, not weaker. Predicting death is a different claim from predicting good years, and these products are sold on the second.
Three preclinical studies refilled the pipeline in the week a pooled reanalysis cast doubt on some senolytic claims (People, tested on a stand-in)3.
DOES THIS CHANGE WHAT I SHOULD DO?
No. Nothing you can buy as a senolytic changed. If you already take one, nothing changed: the pooled reanalysis found many tested products moved no clock, which is a biomarker result, and no human senolytic outcome result has been reported.
Standing positions, restated here because this week did not move them. The highest-stage evidence in this issue is a randomised prehabilitation trial, not a drug (People, tested on what matters)1. Its effect size is not in the available reporting.
What the evidence shows. As a culinary spice, turmeric is safe and its use goes back centuries; nothing here changes that. As a disease-treating supplement, the case is thinner. Cell and animal work is extensive, but no single human study is in view here, so stage not assignable, and the human trials that exist are small, short and confounded by poor oral bioavailability.
What is oversold. The jump from mechanism to disease claims. A culinary dose is not a supplement dose, and a supplement dose is not a tested drug.
INDIA. Culinary use is ancient and uncontroversial. No turmeric product, seller or trial appears in the record.
DOES THIS CHANGE WHAT I SHOULD DO?
No. Keep cooking with it. That part was never in question. Concentrated extracts are where harms would matter, and the human trials are too small and short to characterise them.
Most longevity news is early. These plain guides cover what is already proven, stage by stage, with Indian sources first.
Scientist working at the intersection of computation, biology and medicine. Longevity, Interpreted. exists to understand the evidence, not sell an intervention.
All issues · Subscribe · Health by age · suchee.org · LinkedIn · Scholar