What moved in longevity science this week, what it changes for what gets built, funded, approved and priced, and what is being sold far ahead of its evidence. Global signal, India lens.
Genflow reports that its randomized, blinded beagle trial met its primary endpoint, a methylation clock reading (P2)1.
Insilico published a blood-sample analysis from its completed single-arm Phase IIa of rentosertib: predicted biological age fell across six proteomic clocks in 42 patients over 12 weeks (H2)2.
A separate analysis found proteomic clock age acceleration tracked disease and mortality risk, but added limited predictive value beyond standard lifestyle risk indicators (H1)3.
Three cardiovascular programmes reported failure or discontinuation in one week 456.
ARPA-H plans to put $62.7 million into AI for directing heart failure treatment, aimed at FDA authorization 7.
What changedA methylation clock served as the primary endpoint of a randomized animal trial, and a proteomic clock panel carried a human drug's aging story.
Genflow reports its blinded SLAB trial in 24 beagles aged over 10 met its primary endpoint of reduced biological age, measured by the GRIM clock (P2)1. Two naked-DNA SIRT6 doses and one AAV8 arm were compared against saline.
Insilico published a blood-sample analysis from its completed Phase IIa of rentosertib in idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (H2)2. Predicted biological age fell across six proteomic clocks over 12 weeks in 42 patients.
Neither study tested survival or physical function. The Insilico trial was single-arm, so no control group exists to attribute the change to the drug. Coverage repeated the finding, some of it without the design 89.
Harms: adverse events were not the endpoint in the dog trial, and safety and tolerability were not what the Insilico analysis measured 12.
Commercially: clock readings now sit at three layers, consumer tests, trial endpoints and marketing copy. Veterinary approval is a shorter path than a human one, which is why dog data carry commercial weight. This endpoint was a methylation clock, not survival or function, which is a weaker foundation for that path than it looks 1.
What changedThree papers ran the same people through competing scoring methods. Only one has so far reported the size of the disagreement.
Six proteomic clocks were run on the same rentosertib serum samples and tested for agreement; the agreement result is not stated in the available reporting (M1)10.
T-cell p16INK4a was compared against five methylation clocks in 251 women treated for early breast cancer; the comparison result is not stated in the available reporting (H1)11.
1,752 Alzheimer's polygenic score configurations placed the same individuals in both top and bottom risk strata, depending on method and ancestry (M0)12.
None of the three reports a treatment result, so no harms question arises.
Commercially: a product selling a single biological age number is selling one configuration among many that disagree. Standardization would make those products comparable, and would make some of them look worse.
What changedThree cardiovascular strategies reported failure or discontinuation in one week.
Novartis's lipoprotein(a)-lowering drug missed its randomised, controlled cardiovascular outcomes trial (H4)4, prompting questions about the target itself.
Novo Nordisk halted two randomized controlled trials of an anti-inflammatory cardiovascular drug 5.
TARGET-D found targeted vitamin D management did not clearly reduce major cardiovascular events after myocardial infarction over 4.2 years (H4)6.
Harms: safety data are not reported for any of the three 456.
Commercially: two of the three targeted a plausible mechanism or biomarker and missed the outcome. The Novo trials were halted, and the reason for the discontinuation is not stated in the available reporting 5. Vitamin D management sold for cardiac prevention now has a randomized test that did not find the benefit 6.
Clocks as a drug-response measure.
Predicted biological age fell across six proteomic clocks in 42 single-arm patients 213. A separate analysis found proteomic clock acceleration tracked disease and mortality risk but added little beyond standard lifestyle risk indicators 3. The first supports clocks as a response measure, the second says they add little to what is already measured.
Sauna.
In a pilot of 18 firefighters using a portable sauna, DNAmVO2max and AdaptAge rose, and DamAge rose too (H2)14. Whether a control group was used is not stated in the available reporting. One set of readings says benefit, the other says damage.
ARPA-H, $62.7 million, heart failure AI
7. The agency plans to fund AI systems for directing heart failure treatment, aimed at FDA authorization. Public money buying regulatory-grade evidence for clinical AI is rarer than private money buying AI products. No clinical result exists yet. Track whether an authorization follows, and on what evidence.
C15:0 gets a Phase II after launch
15. A registered trial will test 200 mg or 300 mg daily against placebo in 93 adults aged 55 and over, with red blood cell distribution width as the primary outcome. The supplement is already on sale. A registration is a plan, carrying no efficacy and no harms data, and the result can go either way.
Front-of-pack warnings.
India's food industry asked the Supreme Court to base warnings on a per-serving benchmark instead of FSSAI's per-100-gram plan 16. Manufacturers define serving size, so the denominator decides how many products carry a warning. The All India Food Processors' Association argues the per-100-gram standard misclassifies traditional foods and burdens smaller manufacturers. A per-serving rule would let repackaging substitute for reformulation. Neither benchmark has been tested against health outcomes.
LASI-DAD.
In Indian adults aged 60 and over, higher folate was associated with slower biological aging and higher homocysteine with faster aging over 4.5 years (H1)17. The measures were Phenotypic Age and methylation-based clocks. This is association within a cohort. No supplement was tested, so neither benefit nor harm from taking folate or B12 follows from it.
Oura filed for a US IPO targeting up to a $3B raise and a $16B+ valuation 18.
Qualcomm led a $70M round in Ultrahuman's smart-ring computing platform 19.
Temple acquired longevity clinic Longevous ahead of a wearable device launch 20.
Neko Health reported $21.9M in 2025 ARR at a $1.8B valuation 21.
A market-research report projects the biological age and longevity diagnostics market at $5.58B by 2030 22.
Project Serotonin launched a preventive-health platform for Indian hospitals and clinics 23.
| Trend | Dir | Where it stands |
|---|---|---|
| Age clock commercialization | ↑ | Used as a randomized animal endpoint 1 and as a human blood-sample analysis 2, faster than evidence that moving them matters 3 |
| Biomarker standardization | ↑ | Case is now quantitative, not aspirational 101112 |
| AI-discovered geroprotectives | ↑ | Strengthening on precedent only: a fibrosis drug now presented on an aging endpoint 2, with no new efficacy data on the drug itself |
| Dog longevity as regulatory wedge | ↑ | Endpoint was a clock, not survival or function 1 |
| Senolytics | ↓ | Clinical record still weakening; this week is registrations and mice 242526 |
| GLP-1 and lifespan | → | No human outcome data; one unstarted 75-person pilot 27 |
| NAD+ precursors | → | Mechanism in mice 25 |
| Metformin, rapamycin | → | No new trial data for either |
Scientist working at the intersection of computation, biology and medicine. Longevity, Interpreted. exists to understand the evidence, not sell an intervention.
All issues · Subscribe · suchee.org · LinkedIn · Scholar