What moved in longevity science this week, what it changes for what gets built, funded, approved and priced, and what is being sold far ahead of its evidence. Global signal, India lens.
Semaglutide extended lifespan in old mice (P2)1. No human aging trial of a GLP-1 appears this week.
Two mouse studies extended lifespan by shutting down growth hormone signalling: genetic receptor ablation from 12 months (P2)2 and receptor antagonism against the pathway an approved drug already targets (P2)3. No human data exist, and neither study reports effects on muscle or bone.
Three new biological age estimators were published in one week 456, and an existing clock, PhenoAge, was applied to a new patient group 7. None was compared against another.
Gene editing for cholesterol reached first-in-human dosing, and a Canadian committee recommended public funding for lecanemab 89.
Three Indian cohorts published population-specific aging and risk models in a single week 101112.
What changedThe evidence class moved from healthspan markers to lifespan, in mice.
Semaglutide begun at 20 months extended lifespan and attenuated aging hallmarks in female mice (P2)1. GLP-1 receptor agonism extended median lifespan in a second study (P2)13. Maximum lifespan is unreported.
Human evidence did not reach outcomes. A TriNetX cohort compared stroke and death after transient ischaemic attack by GLP-1 initiation, association only (H1)14. A pooled COMBINE 4142 analysis of 1,970 people measured glucose, weight and risk factors (H2)15.
Harms sit on the human side. A narrative meta-analysis flags under-recognised sarcopenia and micronutrient deficiency in users (H1)16. A 70-person observational study tracked bone density loss against the degree of weight loss (H1)17.
Commercially, the approvals cover weight management, including oral semaglutide and orforglipron 18. Aging is not among the indications, and pursuing one would need a human outcome trial lasting years.
IndiaA BMJ opinion piece argues eventual generic GLP-1 availability would reshape access and health systems, presenting no new data 19. If generics arrive, cost falls long before human aging evidence does.
What changedSponsors started testing add-ons instead of arguing about muscle loss.
Two registrations landed. One pairs enobosarm with a GLP-1, with weight, physical function and safety as endpoints 20. The other tests placebo-controlled ubiquinol for fatigue and strength in users aged 30-65 21.
A 12-week quasi-experimental study added activity coaching to GLP-1 therapy and reported better body composition (H2)22. In weight-matched obese mice, tirzepatide preserved blood stem cell cycling while calorie restriction caused multilineage cytopenias (P1)23.
Not yet shown: that any add-on improves function or hard outcomes. Two registrations list function, fatigue or strength among their endpoints 2021. All three are purchase-shaped. Only the coaching study has reported anything, and what it reported was body composition, not function or hard outcomes.
Harms are unknown for all three. Enobosarm's safety in this setting is an endpoint of 279, not a finding.
The randomised support still sits with training: elastic-band resistance work plus dietary guidance improved muscle mass in 60 sarcopenic older adults (H3)24.
What changedThree new ways to estimate biological age arrived, and none tested whether the number changes care.
New tools read urine peptides (H1)4 and plasma proteins in 36,332 UK Biobank participants (H1)5. A third used chest radiographs and deep learning (H1)6. PhenoAge, an existing clock, was applied to 302 checkpoint-inhibitor patients (H1)7. Each predicts mortality or survival, and all are observational or retrospective.
One study asked the useful question. It tested whether swapping epigenetic for chronological age improves risk discrimination inside the PREVENT cardiovascular model (H1)252627. That comparison has not reported a result.
Harms of buying a reading: cost, misclassification, and treatment decisions taken on a number with no demonstrated clinical utility. The one study testing utility has not reported (H1)25.
Commercially, a market report projects biological age diagnostics at $5.58bn by 2030 28. A projection is a forecast, not validation. A Cell Metabolism perspective disputes what burden of proof age-reversal claims should carry 29.
IndiaA scalable inflammaging-based clock was developed on 4,240 adults in the Phenome India-CSIR cohort (H1)10.
Lean mass on GLP-1 therapy.
A perspective argues DXA-measured lean mass loss need not mean worse muscle quality, strength or function 30. A narrative meta-analysis argues widespread use is causing under-recognised sarcopenia and micronutrient deficiency (H1)16. Both are syntheses and neither is a trial. Three interventions are being pursued on the assumption the problem is real: two registered trials 2021 and a reported coaching study 22. A randomised trial with strength and function endpoints would settle it.
Drugs versus surgery.
A review reports the literature still favours bariatric surgery over high-dose semaglutide and tirzepatide 31. Those drugs give roughly 15-22% weight reduction in one-year trials. The same week frames GLP-1 agonists as longevity drugs on mouse lifespan data 113. The better-evidenced weight intervention is the one nobody is calling a geroprotector.
One number or many trajectories.
Three new tools and one applied clock estimate a single biological age 4567. Three datasets the same week show aging differing by tissue (H1)32 and by sex across 3.8 million immune cells (H1)33. Single-cell work found aging erodes organ-specific endothelial programmes (P1)34. Nobody has shown which framing predicts better in the same cohort.
Scribe Therapeutics dosed the first patient in a Phase 1 trial of STX-1150, a gene-editing cholesterol therapy 8.
The trial began in Australia. Late-breaking primate data showed up to 90% PCSK9 silencing and LDL-C reductions up to 68% (P2). LDL-C is a surrogate, and no human safety data are reported yet. Scribe took a $25m CIRM award for CRISPR cardiovascular programmes in June 35, so capital and clinic now line up.
A Canadian reimbursement advisory committee gave lecanemab a final positive funding recommendation 9.
It covers mild cognitive impairment or mild dementia from early Alzheimer's, and provincial and territorial decisions could follow. The recommendation concerns money, not efficacy: no new trial results and no safety data accompany it. Payer acceptance, not approval, decides whether an amyloid antibody gets used.
Celularity will manufacture Dezawa MuseCells in New Jersey with MuseCell Innovations 36.
Output will include cells plus exosome and secretome products from perinatal, bone marrow and adipose sources. The agreement reports no clinical data and no harms data. Committing plant capacity signals expected clinic volume, and nothing about whether the products work.
Three Indian cohorts built population-specific models in one week. Phenome India-CSIR developed an aging clock on 4,240 adults to predict cardiometabolic risk, addressing models trained on Western populations (H1)10. A genome-wide study of 540 women in northern Kerala tested prediabetes variants and whether a type 2 diabetes polygenic score transfers (H1)11.
A 668-patient early-onset Parkinson's cohort looked for functional convergence among pathogenic and uncertain variants (H1)12. All three are small by genomics standards and association-level, so nothing here supports a screening or treatment change.
The commercial reading cuts two ways: a local diagnostics opportunity, and a validation liability for imported panels. If the polygenic score fails to transfer, risk tools built on European cohorts will misclassify South Indian patients. The same week's Indian clinical record shows what such tools must serve: multimorbidity and palliative care gaps in older adults (H1)37.
| Trend | Direction | Status | This week |
|---|---|---|---|
| GLP-1 into healthspan medicine | ↑ | ESTABLISHED | Mouse lifespan, no human aging trial 113 |
| GLP-1 muscle-preservation add-ons | ↑ | STRENGTHENING | Three add-ons in test, one reporting 202122 |
| Age clock commercialisation | ↑ | STRENGTHENING | Three new tools; one utility test running, result not stated 45625 |
| India multiomics infrastructure | ↑ | STRENGTHENING | Three population-specific cohorts 101112 |
| Senolytics clinical translation | → | WEAKENING | Consensus roadmap and a sepsis trial start, no results 3839 |
| NAD+ precursors | → | flat | Review finds evidence insufficient for anti-aging use 40 |
Scientist working at the intersection of computation, biology and medicine. Longevity, Interpreted. exists to understand the evidence, not sell an intervention.
All issues · Subscribe · suchee.org · LinkedIn · Scholar